Sunday, 3 September 2017

Longstreet House Rules - Morale & Move/Charge Phase

My mates and I are looking at starting a full nine game campaign after the success of our three game pre-Gettysburg one. For this campaign though I'm going to see if there's interest in a couple of House Rules before we start...

House Rule One
I have always thought in Longstreet our Regiments always fighting to the last man...we'll last stand at least without a single hesitation to get stuck in isn't quite right. Now I don't want to break a game I really enjoy but I've tried quite successfully a simple set of morale rules that don't add much game time and add in flavour where depleted units aren't so eager to charge and get you that extra Epic Point!

Rule:
There is a morale phase at the beginning of each player turn.
Any Infantry or Cavalry regiments (ignore Artillery) that have 5 or fewer bases roll 1D6.
The Die modifiers for this roll are; -1 if in cover -1 if any leader is attached.
If the result is greater than the number of bases in the regiment it fails its morale for that turn.
Failure means that unit can't charge this turn or move closer to any enemy units, it can fire, move sideways, move to the rear, change formation etc...
A natural 1 on the morale roll means that the unit withdraws at 1/2 speed directly to the rear retaining facing (it will keep going to clear any units) this is done at the beginning of the action phase regardless of the option the player selects Charge, Move or Pass...

House Rule Two
Every person I introduce these rules too has the same comment, a bit like when someone first enters the TARDIS and says 'hey it's bigger on the inside' for Longstreet they say 'what do you mean my units can't move and charge in the same turn?!?'. So here it is I've introduced a forth option for players in addition to Pass, Move and Charge...the Move & Charge option! It costs double the cards though so watch your card burn rate! This House rule hasn't been fully tested yet so unlike House Rule One this one is open to tweaking.

Rule:
To initiate a Move & Charge phase the player must discard TWO cards. This enables units to be able to move OR charge in this phase.
A THIRD card must be played to enabled Difficult Charges/Moves.
A FORTH card may be played to assist either the charges or the moves being carried out in the phase.
i.e.  a card enabling extra movement and another card enhancing a charge is not allowed, you can only assist either the moves or the charges with a card.
All Charges must be nominated and completed before the Move 'moves' are carried out.
Stacking must be adhered to at all times at the end of the charge move so a charging unit CAN NOT occupy any part of the the footprint of another unit, even if said unit will eventually move out of its current location latter in the phase.

I'll put these to the guys and look forward to seeing their reaction. All four people that are involved have played Longstreet before, all enjoy the game and all have been puzzled by the inability of forces to move & charge at the same time so their reactions will be interesting. I'll post what they say and then of course when we eventually start the campaign if we go ahead with either of these I'll keep everyone up to date!

Happy GAMING!

No comments:

Post a Comment